Multiple users accessing a Excel sheet at same time for editing and saving? How to make this happen

rated by 0 users
Answered (Verified) This post has 1 verified answer | 11 Replies | 3 Followers

Top 75 Contributor
22 Posts
Points 355
skrao posted on Wed, Apr 15 2009 1:30 PM

Hi

I would like to have a setup like this.

I want to share a excel sheet in MOSS 2007 share point in one of the document library.

And multiple users should be able to do the changes at same time. This is possible in the windows shared drives. Want to have this option in the share point too.

I know if one user check out it will be locked.,But i want to have multiple users to able to change in same time.

Appreciate ur quick help on this.

Thanks !

SKRao.

Answered (Verified) Verified Answer

Top 10 Contributor
206 Posts
Points 3,628
Verified by Jeremy Minich

Praveen:

I am by no means an Excel expert and am unsure why you are experiencing this issue.  As this doesn't seem to be a SharePoint issue and instead an Excel issue, I would recommend looking at the Technet Microsoft Excel Forum.

Thanks,

Jeremy Minich

• Filed under:
  • | Post Points: 5

All Replies

Top 10 Contributor
206 Posts
Points 3,628
Suggested by Ashutosh Verma

SKRao:

You are correct that check-in/check-out in MOSS 2007 will not allow you to accomplish your desired effect.  I am not currently aware of a way that you could accomplish what you're after while keeping the document within SharePoint. 

An option you may consider is keeping the Excel workbook on your network drive so multiple folks can edit and publish the workbook via Excel Services and render through an Excel Web Access WP (MOSS 2007 Ent. required).

That's all I've got right now...sorry.

Thanks,

Jeremy Minich

Top 75 Contributor
22 Posts
Points 355
skrao replied on Wed, Apr 15 2009 1:57 PM

Jeremy Minich: